Leaning Into the Night

Leaning Into the Night features a collection of classical pieces with familiar themes and five Ottmar Liebert compositions gracefully interwoven to make a unique whole. Four of the Liebert pieces are known to his fans from other albums and one, “The Winding Road/La primavera”, here receives its first recording. Castro-Neves also contributes one tune, “The Call”, which he composed at Ottmar’s request — it features a recording Ottmar made in the Middle East of a muezzin’s call to prayer. All these selections have been arranged for orchestra by Castro-Neves, who has created a lush, romantic setting for Ottmar’s performances on the guitar. The recording debuted at #1 on Billboard’s Classical Crossover chart and remained on the chart for several months thereafter.

Previews are high quality stereo, but limited to 2 minutes.



Sony Classical 63105 • 01997-09-02

Track Listing

1 Secreto from Impresiones Intimas 4:40
2 Buleria de las Golondrinas 4:07
3 Prelude No.3 5:40
4 Yasmeen 5:11
5 Adagio Assai from Concerto for Piano + Orchestra in G Maj. 4:10
6 The Winding Road/La Primavera 4:11
7 The Call 4:45
9 Morning Arrival in Goa 6:19
11 Bombay 5:09
12 O Mio Babbino Caro from Gianni Schicchi 3:15
Writing+ Publishing

Written by Mompou (1), Liebert (2, 4, 6, 9, 11), Villa-Lobos (3), Ravel (5, 10), Castro-Neves (7), Satie (8), Puccini (12)


Producer: Oscar Castro-Neves, OL + Stefan Liebert
Engineer: Geoff Gilette, Gary Lyons, Stefan Liebert
Studio: Ocean Way Recording in Holloywood, CA + Spiral Subwave in Santa Fe, NM
Mastering: Doug Sax @ The Mastering Lab, Hollywood, CA
Mixed by: Oscar Castro-Neves, Stefan Liebert + Geoff Gilette @ Ocean Way Recording
Mix Medium: DAT
Record Medium: 2" 24-Track Analog

OL – Flamenco Guitar
Jon Gagan – Low Bass
Mark Clark – Percussion

Conductor – Oscar Castro-Neves

Ralph Morrison III
Eun-Mee Ahn
Richard L. Altenbach
Arnold Belnick
Robert Brosseau
Nicole Bush
Lily Ho Chen
Ron Clark
Bruce Dukov
David Ewart
Ronald Folsum
Armen Garabedian
Berj Garabedian
Galina Golovin
Endre Granat
Alan Grunfeld
Tamara Hatwan
Patricia Johnson
Karen Jones
Gary Kuo
Dimitrie Leivici
Isabella Lipi
Rene M. Mandel
Jayme Miller
Robin Olson
Sid Page
Katia Popov
Rachel Robinson
Jay Rosen
Anatoly Rosinsky
Marc Sazer
Kwihee Shamban
Haim Shtrum
Polly Sweeney
Kenneth Yerke

Simon Oswell
Pamela Goldsmith
Denyse N. Buffum
Marlow Fisher
Rick Gerding
Keith Greene
Carrie Holzman-Little
Roland Kato
Carol Kleister-Castillo
Victoria Miskolczy
Michael Ramos
Robin Ross
John Scanlon
Mihail Zinovyev

Douglas Davis
Anthony Cooke
Todd Hemmenway
Anne Karam
Armen Ksajikian
Roger Lebow
David Low
David Speliz
Sebastian Toettcher
John Walz

Charles Domanico
Drew D. Dembowski
Susan Ranney

Louise M. Ditullio
Glen Garrett

Gary Gray

Phillip Ayling

French Horn:
James W. Thatcher

Gayle Levant

Ralph Grierson

Sandy De Crescent
David Low
Gary R. Wasserman

Photography – Reisig & Taylor